BSO: “In Memory of Atatürk,” Bilkent Concert Hall, 8PM November 12

In Memory of Atatürk
Saturday, 12 November 2016, 20.00 | Bilkent Concert Hall

Julien Masmondet, conductor
Jean Guihen Queyras, violoncello

F. Köksal | In par_en_thesis, World premiere, BSO commission
H. Dutilleux | Tout un monde lointain, Turkish premiere
A. Roussel | Bacchus et Ariane, Op.43 Suite No.2

“Julien is a diligent artist with solid musicianship and a keen intellect.” Paavo Järvi

“Queyras gives an intimately conversational account of the Cello Concerto, never turning it into a virtuoso vehicle for its own sake, and persuades the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra under Pablo Heras-Casado to give him equally gentle, refined support. In the D minor Trio, both his and Faust’s supplely expressive phrasing goes a long way towards mitigating Melnikov’s tendency to over-assertiveness, too, though the pianist’s playing is by no means one-dimensional and he conjures some delicate, silvery sonorities from the 1847 Streicher instrument that he has used throughout the series.” Andrew Clements, The Guardian

For more information
For tickets: