Home » Academic Calendar 2016 – 2017

Academic Calendar 2016 – 2017

| 2017 – 2018 | Archive |


30 May 2016, Monday -
3 June 2016, Friday
Pre-registration for FMPA aptitude exams
6 June 2016, Monday -
10 June 2016, Friday
Pre-registration for FADA aptitude exams
13 June 2016, Monday -
16 June 2016, Thursday
FMPA aptitude exams
15 June 2016, WednesdayFADA aptitude exams
29 June 2016, WednesdayFADA aptitude exams results announced
1 July 2016, FridayFMPA aptitude exams results announced
1 July 2016, FridayInternal transfer applications deadline
4 July 2016, Monday (12:30)Half day holiday
5 July 2016, Tuesday -
7 July 2016, Thursday
Feast of Ramadan holiday
27 July 2016, Wednesday
Offerings for Fall semester finalized
29 July 2016, Friday -
23 August 2016, Tuesday
Course pre-registration
1 August 2016, Monday
Internal transfer application results sent to the Registrar
15 August 2016, Monday -
20 August 2016, Saturday
Registration for new undergraduate students (admitted in 2016)
16 August 2016, Tuesday
Tuition installment plan application deadline for new students (admitted in 2016)
19 August 2016, FridayExternal transfer applications deadline
21 August 2016, Sunday -
26 August 2016, Friday
Online GE100 Introduction to Academic Life program registration
26 August 2016, Friday
Classrooms available to all depts. for scheduling
31 August 2016, Wednesday -
2 September 2016, Friday
Registration for new international undergraduate students (admitted in 2016)
30 August 2016, TuesdayVictory Day holiday
31 August 2016, Wednesday
External transfer application results sent to the Registrar
1 September 2016, Thursday
New graduate student admissions finalized
1 September 2016, Thursday
Departments finalize schedules, quotas, and elective pools
1 September 2016, Thursday -
2 September 2016, Friday
COPE-2 speaking exam for Summer School students
3 September 2016, Saturday (10:00)
COPE-1 exam
3 September 2016, Saturday (15:00)
French aptitude test
3 September 2016, Saturday (18:00)
COPE-1 exam results announced
5 September 2016, Monday (09:30)
COPE-2 exam
5 September 2016, Monday -
7 September 2016, Wednesday
Registration for new graduate students (admitted in 2016)
5 September 2016, MondayNew minor program and second major applications deadline
5 September 2016, Monday -
20 September 2016, Tuesday
Courses pre-loaded
6 September 2016, Tuesday -
8 September 2016, Thursday
GE100 Introduction to Academic Life program for all new students
6 September 2016, Tuesday -
8 September 2016, Thursday
COPE-2 speaking exam
7 September 2016, WednesdayTurkish Exam for International Students
8 September 2016, Thursday
COPE-2 exam results announced

Fall Semester 
9 September 2016, FridayTuition due for all continuing students
9 September 2016, FridayLast day for leave-of-absence applications
9 September 2016, Friday
Courses pre-loaded for new students
9 September 2016, Friday
New minor program and second major application results sent to the Registrar
9 September 2016, Friday
Turkish course for new international students
12 September 2016, Monday -
15 September 2016, Thursday
Feast of Sacrifice holiday
17 September 2016, Saturday -
18 September 2016, Sunday
Exchange students' arrival
19 September 2016, MondayExchange students' course registration
19 September 2016, Monday
English Preparatory Program Period 1 begins
19 September 2016, Monday
Transfer students' curricula finalized
20 September 2016, Tuesday
Elective courses pre-loaded
20 September 2016, Tuesday (17:30)
Pre-loaded courses announced
21 September 2016, Wednesday -
22 September 2016, Thursday
Course registration
23 September 2016, FridayClasses begin
23 September 2016, Friday (09:00)
Registration for courses additional to the curriculum begins
23 September 2016, Friday (17:30)
Elective and required quotas merged
28 September 2016, Wednesday (12:00)
Optional re-registration for successfully completed courses
29 September 2016, Thursday (23:59)Course add/drop deadline
30 September 2016, Friday (14:30)
Exam reservations begin
18 October 2016, Tuesday
English Preparatory Program Period 2 begins
28 October 2016, FridayNo classes
29 October 2016, SaturdayRepublic Day holiday
2 November 2016, Wednesday
Registration for additional admission students (admitted in 2016)
10 November 2016, ThursdayCommemoration of Atatürk
14 November 2016, Monday (09:00)
Final exam reservations begin
17 November 2016, Thursday
English Preparatory Program Period 3 begins
2 December 2016, Friday (17:30)Withdraw deadline
7 December 2016, Wednesday
Offerings for Spring semester finalized
9 December 2016, Friday -
2 January 2017, Monday
Course pre-registration
19 December 2016, Monday
English Preparatory Program Period 4 begins
30 December 2016, FridayLast day of classes
30 December 2016, Friday (23:00)Deadline for submitting FZ grades for non-qualifying students
30 December 2016, Friday (23:00)Students who do not qualify to take final exams (FZ grades) announced
1 January 2017, SundayNew Year’s Day holiday
2 January 2017, Monday -
13 January 2017, Friday
Final exams
10 January 2017, Tuesday (10:00)
COPE-1 exam
10 January 2017, Tuesday (18:00)
COPE-1 exam results announced
11 January 2017, Wednesday (10:00)
COPE-2 exam
12 January 2017, Thursday -
13 January 2017, Friday
COPE-2 speaking exam
13 January 2017, Friday
Last day of Fall semester classes for English Preparatory Program
16 January 2017, Monday
COPE-2 exam results announced
16 January 2017, MondayNew minor program and second major applications deadline
17 January 2017, Tuesday
Classrooms available to all depts. for scheduling
18 January 2017, Wednesday (17:30)Grade submission deadline for instructors
18 January 2017, Wednesday (17:30)Grades announced

Spring Semester 
19 January 2017, ThursdayInternal transfer applications deadline
19 January 2017, Thursday
Tuition due (English Preparatory Program)
23 January 2017, Monday
English Preparatory Program Period 5 begins
23 January 2017, Monday
New minor program and second major application results sent to the Registrar
24 January 2017, Tuesday
Departments finalize schedules, quotas, and elective pools
25 January 2017, Wednesday -
30 January 2017, Monday
Courses pre-loaded
25 January 2017, Wednesday
Transfer application results sent to the Registrar
25 January 2017, Wednesday
Courses pre-loaded for new students
27 January 2017, Friday
Transfer students' curricula finalized
30 January 2017, MondayTuition due
30 January 2017, MondayLast day for leave-of-absence applications
30 January 2017, Monday -
31 January 2017, Tuesday
Registration for new graduate students
31 January 2017, TuesdayExchange students' course registration
31 January 2017, Tuesday
Student evaluations posted on the web
1 February 2017, Wednesday
Elective courses pre-loaded
1 February 2017, Wednesday (17:30)
Pre-loaded courses announced
2 February 2017, Thursday -
3 February 2017, Friday
Course registration
6 February 2017, MondayClasses begin
6 February 2017, Monday (09:00)
Registration for courses additional to the curriculum begins
6 February 2017, Monday (17:30)
Elective and required quotas merged
9 February 2017, Thursday (12:00)
Optional re-registration for successfully completed courses
10 February 2017, Friday (23:59)Course add/drop deadline
13 February 2017, Monday (14:30)
Exam reservations begin
22 February 2017, Wednesday
English Preparatory Program Period 6 begins
23 March 2017, Thursday
English Preparatory Program Period 7 begins
3 April 2017, MondayBilkent Day
5 April 2017, Wednesday (09:00)
Final exam reservations begin
14 April 2017, Friday (17:30)Withdraw deadline
23 April 2017, SundayNational Sovereignty and Children's Day holiday
24 April 2017, Monday
English Preparatory Program Period 8 begins
1 May 2017, MondayLabor and Solidarity Day holiday
5 May 2017, Friday -
6 May 2017, Saturday
Spring Festival
12 May 2017, Friday -
29 May 2017, Monday
Course requests for Summer School through SRS
15 May 2017, MondayLast day of classes
15 May 2017, Monday (23:00)Deadline for submitting FZ grades for non-qualifying students
15 May 2017, Monday (23:00)Students who do not qualify to take final exams (FZ grades) announced
16 May 2017, Tuesday -
22 May 2017, Monday
COPE-2 speaking exam
17 May 2017, Wednesday -
30 May 2017, Tuesday
Final exams
17 May 2017, Wednesday (10:00)
COPE-1 exam
17 May 2017, Wednesday (18:00)
COPE-1 exam results announced
18 May 2017, Thursday (10:00)
COPE-2 exam
19 May 2017, FridayCommemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day holiday
24 May 2017, Wednesday
Last day of Spring semester classes for English Preparatory Program
24 May 2017, Wednesday
COPE-2 exam results announced
25 May 2017, Thursday
Tuition due (English Preparatory Program)
29 May 2017, Monday
English Preparatory Program Period 9 begins
5 June 2017, Monday (17:30)Grade submission deadline for instructors
5 June 2017, Monday (17:30)Grades announced
17 June 2017, SaturdayGraduation Ceremony


Summer School 2017 
8 June 2017, Thursday -
9 June 2017, Friday
Course registration for Summer School
9 June 2017, Friday (23:59)Course drop deadline
9 June 2017, Friday
Offerings for Summer School finalized
12 June 2017, Monday
Student evaluations posted on the web
12 June 2017, MondayClasses begin
14 June 2017, Wednesday (17:30)Course add deadline
25 June 2017, Sunday -
27 June 2017, Tuesday
Feast of Ramadan holiday
28 June 2017, Wednesday
English Preparatory Program Period 10 begins
3 July 2017, MondayInternal transfer applications deadline
18 July 2017, Tuesday (17:30)Withdraw deadline
1 August 2017, TuesdayLast day of classes
1 August 2017, Tuesday (20:00)Deadline for submitting FZ grades for non-qualifying students
1 August 2017, Tuesday (20:00)Students who do not qualify to take final exams (FZ grades) announced
2 August 2017, Wednesday -
6 August 2017, Sunday
Summer School final exams
4 August 2017, Friday
Last day of Summer School classes for English Preparatory Program
9 August 2017, Wednesday (17:30)Grade submission deadline for instructors
9 August 2017, Wednesday (17:30)Grades announced
14 August 2017, Monday
Student evaluations posted on the web
30 August 2017, WednesdayVictory Day holiday